Education of Ivy Blake by Ellen Airgood paperback - Treehouse Books and Gifts

Education of Ivy Blake by Ellen Airgood paperback

  • $6.40


Education of Ivy Blake by Ellen Airgood

* "Like Anne of Green Gables and many other neglected creative girls before her, Ivy is irresistible, and readers will be rooting for her all the way."—School Library Journal, starred review
 
Ivy has loved living with her best friend, Prairie, and being part of Prairie’s lively, happy family. But now Ivy’s mom has decided to take her back. Ivy tries to pretend everything is fine, but her mom’s neglect and embarrassing public tantrums often make Ivy feel ashamed and alone. Fortunately, Ivy is able to find solace in art, in movies, and from the pleasure she finds in observing and appreciating life’s small, beautiful moments. And when things with her mom reach the tipping point, this ability gives her the strength and power to push on and shape her own future.
In this uplifting companion to Prairie Evers, shy, introverted Ivy must find her footing when her reckless mom turns her world upside down.

"Hand to fans of the quiet, resilient, and realistic heroes in Pam Muñoz Ryan's Esperanza Rising or lovers of the novels of Eva Ibbotson." —Booklist

"An uplifting coming-of-age story that foregrounds both the loss and the luster involved in creating an identity all one's own."—Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for readers of Joan Bauer's Close to Famous and Lynda Mullaly Hunt's One for the Murphys!